List of counties that have opted into the THP-Plus extension

Q: I’m currently nearing the end of my 24 months in the THP-Plus program. I’m working on getting my AA degree, and would really like to stay in the program until I finish. I’ve heard that some counties allow youth to remain in THP-Plus for an additional 12 months if they are in school. How do I find out whether my county offers this?

A: You are correct. Senate Bill 1252 (Torres) established the option for counties to extend their THP-Plus programs for youth enrolled in school for an additional 12 months and up to the age of 25. This law went into effect January 1, 2015.

Currently, 19 counties have opted into the THP-Plus extension. These counties are listed, along with additional information about the THP-Plus extension on the THP-Plus website at the following URL: http://thpplus.org/thp-plus-extension-for-youth-enrolled-in-school/

This fall, the John Burton Foundation will be releasing an implementation report on the THP-Plus extension informed by interviews with providers and county representatives in the counties that have opted into the extension.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

